Skip navigation

I love film. On last count I own close to 300 films and around 65 television shows, plus countless more on my computer (don’t fret, I buy them also, I just catch up in dashes). I’ve wanted for a long, long time to be able to do what they do – to convey an idea, an emotion or a concept to an audience through a medium that, in my opinion, is among the most capable of that conveyance.

So I decided to get off my arse and go to film school.

I’ve enrolled at Swinburne University, Bachelor of Film and Television. My first week has been excellent – an introductory week for all things film. We have learned the roles of each person from conception to final release, and by the end of the year we should have each experienced the entire process. The design is fantastic – a scriptwriting/direction class, an editing/postproduction class, a cinematography/film/stills photgraphy class and what seems to be a theory class to help understand the art of film. Each friday morning at 830am I go in for a screening and a lecture as well. There is one main assignment that carries through the several classes: we each write, direct, film and edit our own 90 second piece by the end of the semester. I am of course petrified and have no idea what I’ll do, but here’s to trying!

So this will be my documentation of this journey. As required, I shall submit here notes on what I’ve been learning, but I also hope to use it as a means of exploring my own ideas for film. Last week I saw 127 Hours, the week before True Grit, and tomorrow Black Swan and I shall endeavour to write a bit on each of them. I’ll discuss Twelve Angry Men, the film version of a play I’ll be directing later this year. I’ll discuss what’s seen in the uni screenings, and hopefully will be able to learn much and open discussion with those interested.

Could not be more excited for the year to come.

Leave a comment